Ascot Hotel

Customer Reviews //

Guest comments and reviews about their experience at the Ascot Hotel.

ascot-hotel-customer-reviews-tripadvisor
Umi D
Umi D
2021-12-30
Amazing steak experience! We turned up, hubby, my 2 boys and I, not realizing how much of an extra special treat it was going to be to eat steak here! We arrived and Will introduced himself and gave us - along with other people arriving at the same time - a little rundown of what to expect and the different cuts of meat available. My 11 yo son picked kangaroo fillet, my 9 yo picked “the cube” and hubby picked rump and we all shared and delighted in watching our beautiful steak presented to us in super sizzling stones. Just as well Will told us not to lick the stones when finished - they come out at 400 degrees celcius! We all had the most delicious steaks and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Thankyou Will and crew at the Stonegrill!
DanPac85
DanPac85
2021-12-27
Pleasantly surprised If you’re after a quality piece of Aussie beef steak, this is the place for you! Be sure to speak to Will - a man with a big heart. Very tasty steak.
Peter S
Peter S
2021-10-08
If you love your steak… This place was recommended by a friend so we thought we would check it out….and boy was he right - we have had this style of food before however what makes this experience better than most is the meat - the cuts are brilliant Service was polite and prompt Even my daughter thought the chicken nuggets (homemade) were better than maccas Wonderful experience
RRB
RRB
2021-10-01
An absolute MUST for meat lovers!! Hands down the best steak.. I mean THE BEST STEAK!!! Passionate introduction to various meat cuts by super friendly staff. We learned things about meat we didn't know. Served on a 400 degree hot stone and easy cooking to perfection and your liking. So much fun, so much flavour and taste. Please don't get fooled by the simple pub / hotel outlook, you will enjoy excellent service and a mouthwatering piece of meat with fresh sides. We will be back!!
Sophia T
Sophia T
2021-07-09
First experience on stone grill steak The steak came out pretty quick and was really delicious & juicy. We didn’t need any sauce for it. The man who served us was really friendly and kind enough to explain each cut to us. Highly recommend this place !
Sandy T
Sandy T
2021-05-07
Sandy Todd Fabulous food. So worth a visit. Should visit just for the food. Steak is amazing. We have visited and tried a number of steaks and they have all been great. The veggies are fresh, and the chips are home made.
rachn448
rachn448
2021-04-24
Steak worth the visit ! Stopped in for a steak after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. The steak was amazing, got a thorough explanation on how to use the stone grill. Would definitely eat here again. Decor and ambience of the hotel was a little tired, however the food and service made that irrelevant. Would eat here again. Thank you.
ascot-hotel-customer-reviews-google
John McGee
John McGee
2021-11-29
If your a steak lover and can look past the aging decor.The Ascot is a must. I ordered the Rost Biff on a Stone grill. It was a mouthwatering experience. The sides were very generous. You won't be disappointed.
Lynette Lennane
Lynette Lennane
2021-11-22
Karaoke Sunday session 1pm-5pm. Had a really good afternoon here being entertained by some pretty awesome Karaoke singers ohh and the beer was nice and cold and it's air-conditioned which is a must these days. The venue is clean and staff are friendly.
Andrew Wade
Andrew Wade
2021-09-11
Awesome steaks, and great staff. Will and Tracy make the place super inviting and entertaining. Love it! We’ll never pass through Rocky without dropping in (my kids made me promise).
Ingrid Kelly
Ingrid Kelly
2021-08-31
Food and service is amazing. Don't expect a 5star glitzy restaurant, it's more down-to-earth. The Ascot is clean, fresh and neat. The meal is amazing and served very uniquely on a Hot Stone. Cuts of meat are fully explained and also the best way to use the hot stone for the best taste sensation and it IS a sensation.
shane fisher (captain rocket)
shane fisher (captain rocket)
2021-08-28
Great food very welcome Great service warm friendly staff.
Ryu Vo
Ryu Vo
2021-07-27
This place definitely needs a renovation, but the steak is amazing! Such a great experience cooking your own premium steak on a hot stone - you know for sure that every piece is to your liking! The steak was so well seasoned you don't even need a side sauce (tbh the sauce wasn't that great). The owner is enthusiastic about his steak and you get a great learning experience from him - top bloke! Highly recommended this place if you are looking for a great steak experience and don't let the place's appearance deceive you! Give it a go! You won't regret it!
Duyan Trucbao
Duyan Trucbao
2021-07-06
The steaks here are genuinely nice and it is right that you don't need the sauce to enjoy them. Had a great opportunity to meet Will, the owner. Will is very passionate about his steaks and willing to share his knowledge on steaks to his customers. Wishing Will all the best with his business.
Skeg Budley
Skeg Budley
2021-04-13
5he Stone Grill here never disappoints.
Claire Daniels
Claire Daniels
2021-03-12
Love this place and the meals. The lovely older gentleman who runs/owns this place and does the cooking is a great host .
Inna I
Inna I
2021-02-01
Amazing ! I do not normally eat steak, but this place is too good! I ate 250 gr. of an amazing tenderloin 😬 I guess it will be enough meat for me for the whole year 🤣 My partner enjoyed his 350 g cube steak and he is quite a picky diner with a sophisticated Italian palette. You cook your steak to the extend you prefer yourself on a hot stone at your table and the chef is helping you to do this 🙂 Will is so dedicated to his job and passion and dining here is an incredible experience, PS make sure to order some crocodile from a local farm too👌👌 I’ve travelled around the world and this place is incredibly unique , it deserves more attention and there is nothing like it👏👏
ascot-hotel-customer-reviews-facebook
Carmel Evans
Carmel Evans
2021-09-06
recommends
Very friendly staff, casual atmosphere and amazing steaks. Very well priced quality wines. Can’t recommend highly enough.
Laura O'Leary
Laura O'Leary
2021-08-27
recommends
Staff were extremely down to earth and friendly, first time eating here and will definitely not be the last. The food was absolutely beautiful!
Chantelle Carr
Chantelle Carr
2021-06-30
recommends
Most friendliest staff I’ve ever had along with can’t speak highly enough of the meal. Best 🥩 my husband has ever had. My son & I like it as well & where not big steak eaters. Sensational
Bianca Jayne Egan
Bianca Jayne Egan
2021-02-14
recommends
Very friendly down to earth pub
Justin Brown
Justin Brown
2021-01-23
recommends
Great food and friendly staff
Steph Ruddick
Steph Ruddick
2021-01-10
recommends
Absolutely loved our intimate, friendly experience at the Ascot. Will is a true blue passionate publican who takes pride in everything the Ascot offers. The last of a dying breed of honest, hard working and down to earth people who provide great service and knowledge about their restaurant and products. More local Rocky people need to get themselves along to the stone grill experience.
Dan Jeffs
Dan Jeffs
2020-11-14
recommends
good food and great serivce from all the staff
Kimberley Cole
Kimberley Cole
2020-11-13
recommends
was very rude severice by the staff . was also very slow and made the chef do the work. will not come back again unless the service changes and a better friendlier atmosphere
Vanda Silman
Vanda Silman
2020-09-28
recommends
The steaks were so good ! Also fun cooking it yourself! Never had anything like it !! From Brisbane but come to Rocky yearly so will definitely be back . The chef explains it very well and the staff were the best !! Thanks for a great last night in Rockhampton before trip back to Brisbane tomorrow !!! When I rang and booked was chatting to the owner and he said he was under pressure to make sure all was good . 10/10 it was fantastic!
Ange Cascade
Ange Cascade
2020-09-21
recommends
11/10 meal at Stone & Grill yesterday! We are doing a road trip from Brisbane and had been looking forward to stopping in for a steak lunch in Rocky. We didn’t realise they shut at 2pm on a Sunday, but after giving them a ring, Will said he would stay open a couple more hours til we got there. Legend. Will & Trevor absolutely made this experience for us. Will really knows his stuff when it comes to meat and he is so passionate about sharing that with his customers. He is a real character and puts on a great show. On top of that, the steak was out of this world juicy, tender, delicious & cooked in an interesting way on the hot stone. We loved the whole experience of being there. Thank you Will & Trev!